Get my drift…?

20130719-202419.jpg

I went to see Pacific Rim on Tuesday with my lovely companion.

The film was better than I expected it to be.

I was intrigued by the concept of ‘drift’/’drifting’.

In the film pilots are placed in machines called Jaegers in order to fight the sea monsters called Kaijus. In the film, a Jaeger’s neural load is too much for a single pilot to handle alone, meaning they must first be psychically linked to another pilot—a concept called “Drifting”.

According the the Bible that is Wikipedia:

When pilots Drift, they quickly gain intimate knowledge of each other’s memories and feelings, and have no choice but to accept them

Fascinating…

So of course the next obvious question is – who would you drift with?

Hmm…

The actors in this film when asked this question on the red carpet or in interviews came up with answers like

“my wife”

“Bob Marley”

“Albert Einstein”

So then I ask myself three questions.

  1. Would I want to drift with my lovely companion? Sometimes yes, sometimes no.

I like the fact that I have to work out what he is thinking. I like the fact that I have to listen to him, watch his body language, remember previous conversations, look at pictures past and present, to complete the puzzle that is him. Would I want that all in an instant? I somehow have the romantic notion that after years of knowing him this would happen naturally.

  1. Would I want to ‘drift’ with the people around me? I cannot think of famous person, work colleague, friend or family member that I would like to drift with. Does it mean I have little imagination? Does that mean I am not curious?

My overiding thought is that it would be intrusive. Thoughts and memories are private and shared with only the close close ones the circle of trust. Not that my family are not close in their own way – we can all describe each other -personality, style, quirks, in precise detail! . I think I know my little sister the best. There are eight years between us and I have known her since the day she was born – for a long time – I always viewed her a a ‘daughter’. I think I have a pretty good idea what she is thinking most times – when she is talking and not talking. I know what upsets her and I know what brings a smile to her face. We have pretty much the same childhood memories and same sense of humour. We can be watching the same programme in different cities and when a particular line or quote is heard we somehow simultaneously will text each other…are you watching Channel 4/BBC 1!?

  1. The 64 million dollar question – do I want anybody to drift with me?

I am not sure there is much going on inside this noggin that warrants the time and energy. Also I tend to think my thoughts are private and for me only. There was a time when for me, the concept of a soulmate included somebody who can read your thoughts and just knows you. Presumably that would be a good thing. However I have found over the years certain people only seem to know my fears and frailties and spend time commenting and critiquing on those issues. These pleasant childhood memories, the love of music, dance, food, travel, people etc does not seem to get as much attention. I guess it is only what I am projecting that people pick up on!

Anyhow – aside from that little aside – I still would like to keep my thoughts to myself.

I love looking at my lovely companion’s face and asking that eternal question “what are you thinking?”

Leave a Reply

