Oasis

I am still employing my work avoidance strategies…

I have been rummaging through some papers in my ‘library’ and I came across a pink plastic folder – full of letters, e-mails and general musing of someone in her mid 20’s (aka me!).

I am amused, surprised, warmed by my attempts at pow-tree writing at age 25.

Oasis

Oasis is summer evenings spent cooking

Salad, soup and rice

Oasis is the back door open

The last rays of Sun trickling through the leaves

Oasis is October

Long days spent in the lecture theatre

Oasis is an obsession

Tapes, magazine, posters, television

Oasis is West London

White curtains, books, roses in the garden

Oasis is all the things I cannot have

Oasis is Spring

A fresh new beginning

Oasis is tall and dark

But in the end – unobtainable

Oasis is that morning

When all is calm and peaceful

Oasis is that car journey

The highway to the unknown

Oasis is all the things I cannot have

Oasis is winter evenings

Gas heater, radio, books and advent

Oasis is the blue corridor

The frozen path to the green room

Oasis is the stage

That filled many a dream

Oasis is all the things I cannot have

Oasis is autumn

The smoke, the sore throat and muddy leaves

Oasis it the next level

The one which seemed so far away

Oasis is all the things I cannot have

Oasis is living

The morning, the afternoon, evening and nightfall

Oasis is all the things I cannot have

Oasis is everything I have and more

I am guessing this was the year between studying and qualifying, a time of remembering the past and looking forward to the future while trying to be grounded in the present.

Anyway – I had better get back to that audit.

Time and tide…

Leave a Reply

