Western Africa meets Southern Africa

20130811-100227.jpg

Three weeks ago I drove my mother and I to Luton to attend a wedding.

The bridegroom was the youngest son of my mother friend, a friend whom she had gone to nursing school with many years ago. The bride – a lovely lady from Zimbabwe.

I did not know anyone there, so for me it was an opportunity to observe yet another wedding ritual and of course take lots of picture and eat food.

The MC was hilarious – although sometimes his comments were a little close to the edge…

I struggled to see the Zimbabwean influence on the wedding – although there was some- but the theme that came across was predominately NIgerian. Much of the food I recognised was NIgerian so familiar and oh so delicious.

The nicest part?

The pastor asked the bride and groom why they had chosen each other.

Bride: He’s the best

Bridegroom : She completes me

How sweet!

I am big softy really

Leave a Reply

