Perfect trust – perfect peace

I saw my cousin and his lovely wife today. It was nice to see them. Before my cousin left – he gave me this book.

20140309-181521.jpg

It’s a long time since I read anything like this…

The verse for today 9th March 2014 was from Isaiah

Isaiah 26 : 1 – 6

New International Version (NIV)
A Song of Praise

26 In that day this song will be sung in the land of Judah:

We have a strong city;
God makes salvation
its walls and ramparts.
2 Open the gates
that the righteous nation may enter,
the nation that keeps faith.
3 You will keep in perfect peace
those whose minds are steadfast,
because they trust in you.
4 Trust in the Lord forever,
for the Lord, the Lord himself, is the Rock eternal.
5 He humbles those who dwell on high,
he lays the lofty city low;
he levels it to the ground
and casts it down to the dust.
6 Feet trample it down—
the feet of the oppressed,
the footsteps of the poor.

The first part of the accompanying text is as follows:

This powerful verse from the Old Testament shows us the need for a conscious centring of our minds on God. He is not the place of occasional reference; He is the centre of our world, love and loyalty. There can be little doubt that this is the way Jesus lived. We only have to observe Him as He walks through the pages of the Gospels to see that His heart and mind be focused on God; as the text says, there is a need also for trust. Jesus’ trust in His Father’s love and purposes was perfect, and so He was able to receive and enjoy perfect peace.

So easier said than done…

But a timely arrival because I remember yesterday, thinking as I was leaving Switzerland “how can I get closer to God?”. It was born from a feeling that if I am not 100% focused on the important things, then I am not really any good to anybody. My conclusion was that I should read the word of God, i.e. The Bible , more often.

How can I do that?

I often simply do not have the time or perhaps I fill the time with other things…Also one needs the presence mind to read things with a critical eye and absorb the good and the true bits. I used to find that in the past I used to wrestle with things that upset and challenged me. It can be emotionally draining – although I do not think it is meant to be that way.

So the other recommended verses for 9th March 2014

Psalm 37:1-11
New International Version (NIV)
Psalm 37[a]

Of David.

1 Do not fret because of those who are evil
or be envious of those who do wrong;
2 for like the grass they will soon wither,
like green plants they will soon die away.
3 Trust in the Lord and do good;
dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.
4 Take delight in the Lord,
and he will give you the desires of your heart.
5 Commit your way to the Lord;
trust in him and he will do this:
6 He will make your righteous reward shine like the dawn,
your vindication like the noonday sun.
7 Be still before the Lord
and wait patiently for him;
do not fret when people succeed in their ways,
when they carry out their wicked schemes.
8 Refrain from anger and turn from wrath;
do not fret—it leads only to evil.
9 For those who are evil will be destroyed,
but those who hope in the Lord will inherit the land.
10 A little while, and the wicked will be no more;
though you look for them, they will not be found.
11 But the meek will inherit the land
and enjoy peace and prosperity.

and

1 Timothy 6:6-19
New International Version (NIV)
6 But godliness with contentment is great gain. 7 For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it. 8 But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that. 9 Those who want to get rich fall into temptation and a trap and into many foolish and harmful desires that plunge people into ruin and destruction. 10 For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil. Some people, eager for money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs.

Final Charge to Timothy

11 But you, man of God, flee from all this, and pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, endurance and gentleness. 12 Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called when you made your good confession in the presence of many witnesses. 13 In the sight of God, who gives life to everything, and of Christ Jesus, who while testifying before Pontius Pilate made the good confession, I charge you 14 to keep this command without spot or blame until the appearing of our Lord Jesus Christ, 15 which God will bring about in his own time—God, the blessed and only Ruler, the King of kings and Lord of lords, 16 who alone is immortal and who lives in unapproachable light, whom no one has seen or can see. To him be honor and might forever. Amen.

17 Command those who are rich in this present world not to be arrogant nor to put their hope in wealth, which is so uncertain, but to put their hope in God, who richly provides us with everything for our enjoyment. 18 Command them to do good, to be rich in good deeds, and to be generous and willing to share. 19 In this way they will lay up treasure for themselves as a firm foundation for the coming age, so that they may take hold of the life that is truly life.

I have to say – despite my cynicism in the past year – I find some of these verses encouraging and comforting.

What will I do with them…?

Think about and try to act with generosity and goodwill to people around me, not that I do not already do that, but to continue to try even in the most challenging circumstances. Challenge is currently – me and mine at the moment so I need strength and peace!

The pray for today is read as

Father, I see more clearly than ever that You are desirous of giving deep inner peace. Help me open myself to Your healing peace. May my mind be fixed on You and not my troubles. In Jesus’ name. Amen

Amen. Amen. Amen.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Gede Prama says:

    I really like and very inspired… 🙂

Leave a Reply

