Weekly Photo Challenge : Threshold

on

In a post created specifically for this challenge, share a photo that captures the threshold — that point just before the action happens, that oh-so-sweet moment of anticipation before that new beginning. It could be a door about to open, or something a bit more metaphorical like a flower about to bloom. Looking forward to seeing how you capture “threshold.”

 

 

I travelled to Andorra with my lovely companion for a week of snowboarding. I thought I might use some of the pictures I took while snowboarding for this week’s photo challenge. For me, sitting on the top of a mountain slope, strapping my boots to my board, ready for the descend, would represent “Threshold”. The start of something new and exciting and challenging. I was for the most part of the holiday scared witless that I would break some part of my body. As it was I only sprained the ankle of my left foot (I am a regular) when I fell gracelessly off a ski lift.

So here are my pictures…enjoy!

This is one the plane to Switzerland – actually the next holiday I took, but a good representation of the excitement one feels when travelling from A to B via the avion

20140404-234726.jpg
Leaving on a jet plane…

This is on the coach at Lleida, Spain. There are no airports in Andorra and so we flew with Thomas Cook to Spain to then get on a three hour coach journey to Andorra. I was so excited at this point – just waiting to leave and see the mountains.

20140404-234747.jpg
Lleida Airport, Spain

The last three pictures are taken on the mountains just before we began our descent. I was mostly filled with fear but the adrenaline kept me going!

My lovely companion getting ready

20140404-234756.jpg
I’ve got your back…

The edge of the black slope “pista negra” I was too scared to venture any closer on my snowboard. It had a tendency to move of its own accord when I least expected or wanted it to.

20140404-234809.jpg
Pista negra

My lovely companion and our fellow snowbarding companion Matthew, getting ready for another descent

20140404-234803.jpg
Getting ready…
Leave a Reply

