Weekly Photo Challenge : Letters

For this week’s challenge, share a photo with letters — no matter the alphabet. You can capture a neon sign, a sentence scribbled in an old phone booth, a random letter that’s seemingly out of place, or anything else. As you look through your lens, think about how your image might convey something bigger: a snapshot of how we communicate with one another, even if we don’t speak the same language.

I liked this challenge!

THE JESUS LETTERS
The first pictures are my ‘Jesus’ letters.

The was a time when I first became a Christian when I was just crazy about all things Jesus. For some reason in those early years – when I travelled I would come across letters interesting forms – soap, trains and tiles. At the time I was not in a relationship and I couldn’t afford to buy enough letters for my own name (FRANCESCA) and buying letters for my own name seemed silly and selfish anyway. So at the time JESUS seemed the perfect option!

20140426-102644.jpg

I bought these train letters in Kent when I went to visit my lovely friend Menaka.

20140426-102658.jpg

I bought these soap letters in Nice, a holiday I took by myself when I was reeling from a recent medical diagnosis. The holiday was restful and liberating.

20140426-102704.jpg

I bought these tile letters on a trip to Lanzarote with my sister. It was weird holiday. We were involved in a accident the night before we were due to fly off. It shook us to the bone and cast a dampener on the rest of the holiday. However we managed to enjoy some of it.

LIGHT PAINTING

The last holiday I took was in Switzerland with my sisters. She is a pharmacist but one of her passions is photography. She taught me how to do light painting. So my sisters and I set up up the camera and got out a torch and wrote letters in the air in front of Basel Minster.

20140426-102714.jpg

FRAN – me

20140426-103521.jpg

GLOR – my sister Gloria

20140426-103536.jpg

NIKE – my sister

20140426-103552.jpg

BASEL – speaks for itself

Leave a Reply

