Daily post : Rare medium

Describe a typical day in your life — but do it in a form or in a medium you’ve rarely — if ever – used before. If you’re a photoblogger, write a poem. If you’re a poet, write an open letter. If you’re a travel blogger, write a rant. (These are all examples — choose whatever form you feel like trying out!)

Dear Ulf

It was great to receive your letter in the post. In fact it was a lovely surprise. These things are so rare nowadays. I am so happy to here that you have another little one! Life must be pretty busy. Just thought I would write back and let you know how I am. It’s been such a long time since I wrote to you.

How am I ? Much the same – work grinds on!!

Most days are much the same. I am up early in the morning with the sun , a quick shower then I fly out of the house to the tube station. At the tube a purchase of my ‘breakfast’ of hot chocolate and ham and cheese croissant. I would save £3.40 every morning if I just made my own breakfast…
Then it’s the hour long journey to Ealing Broadway station. Not so exciting Ulf, mostly standing until the mass exodus at Oxford Circus station. Then I sit for the remaining 30 minutes of the journey. Driving is not better – 90 minutes on the car park that is the North Circular. It chips away at my soul – because in reality – that other parallel universe – it is a 37 minute journey.

When I arrive at the end it straight into work – checking and responding to e-mails, report writing or dealing with enquiries about my patients from various colleagues. Some mornings I have clinic – Wednesday and Thursdays usually running up to lunchtime. Other days Mondays and Wednesdays the clinics are afternoon.

Clinics are the most interesting part of the day – the face to face interaction with families and children. The clinical challenge “what is wrong with my child? What can be done to help?”

Lunchtimes are mostly spent in front the computer – eating a hastily bought sandwich from Sainsbury’s and checking e-mails and more report check. I will be the first to admit that it is not the healthiest way to eat. When I first started this job I would eat lunch outside of the office, sometimes with a work colleague. Oh how things have changed! It’s always my New Year’s resolution to work to a “better work-life balance” but have not got there yet. I do however need to be a better example to my trainees.

I might venture from the office anytime from 5 – 7 pm. Then either home or my weekly visit to the cinema (curtesy of my Cineworld card!). Returning home after work is a mixture of cooking dinner, phoning family and friends and catching up on the rest of life. Then I watch my favourites on Chanel 4 OD or BBC iPlayer or read or study. Then bed and the day is over. Week days are not exciting…they are what they are.

Anyway I’d better not bore you too much.

You briefly mentioned that you were starting to do lectures as well as the GP shifts. How is that going? How is Violetta coping with her new baby sister? I bet she is delighted. Lots of my friends over here are also on ‘baby number two’. I am still waiting patiently for baby number one! I am sure it will happen at the right time and not a moment too soon. Did I tell you I always had a feeling that I would have twins? Fate and biology. We shall see. Need that ring on left fourth finger anyhow…! Again all things in good time.

Do you keep in contact with any of the old crowd – although that was some time ago – 14 years. I think my closest contacts have been those that I have either known since day one of medical school or I met during my registrar training. Even those relationships require effort to maintain.

I am writing this letter just before I go to bed – the quietest moment of the day- so I am going to sign off now.

As ever – lots of love Francesca.

Leave a Reply

