Daily prompt: Adult visions

As a kid, you must have imagined what it was like to be an adult. Now that you’re a grownup (or becoming one), how far off was your idea of adult life?

mini me and my shadow

When I was this little I do not think that I had any concept of the future further than the next meal.

However as I grew older the inevitable question always arose “what do you want to do when you grow up?”. The answer was always – “I want to be a doctor”. Then when I realised that there were many types of doctor, and after 2 weeks work experience at a local nursery, I decided I wanted to be a paediatrician. Kinderartz – as I quoted all through my GCSE German lessons.

I also had a plan to finish medical school age 24 and get married shortly afterwards and have two children. I would live with my husband in a ‘nice’ house in a ‘nice’ area. I would be the best mother and wife in the world.

When I was seven I decided that I was going to write a book by the time I was fifteen.

And so 30 years later – how is that vision?

Well I made it through medical school. I became a paediatrician. The job is harder than I ever imagined but I also love it more than I ever imagined. It’s challenging. No two days are ever the same. I learn new aspects about other people and myself everyday. It’s testing.

The husband and children are yet to materialise…

However I shall be patient 🙂

 

The book is coming – watch this space…

grown up me
                                                 grown up me

Onwards, upwards and forwards

Leave a Reply

