“We are Groot”

Thurday evening was spent in front of the big screen eating popcorn. The first time for what seems like a long time. With all the stress and drama it seemed like a bit of light relief.

What did we see ?

“Guardians of the Galaxy”
Conclusions:

  1. Funny film – I absolutely LOVED it.

  2. Nice soundtrack – pretty much makes the film.

I have to say I did not warm to it initially, maybe because of the sombre beginning, but that did not last long – you have to loosen up when you hear ‘Come and get your love’

I loved all the characters quirky and off key in their own little ways. For me the best characters battle between Rocket and Groot, the non-humans – well actually none of them were fully human maybe that’s what made them so appealing .

‘We are groot’ – yes I teared up at this line…

There were lots of funny one liners – my best:

Drax : “Nothing gets over my head. My reflexes are too fast . I would catch them”

Drax : “I wasn’t listening. I was thinking of something else”

And of course I loved the soundtrack – at first with 10 cc ‘I’m not in love ‘ I thought we were going to be treated to cheesefest of a pop medley. I was pleasantly surprised (even though I am a child of the 80’s) to hear a selection on tunes many unfamiliar to me but with a good vibe. The soundtrack really makes the film. So good I bought the sound track. Fickle me! iTunes are making a lot of money from me…

1.Blue Swede – Hooked on a Feeling
2.Raspberries – Go All the Way
3.Norman Greenbaum – Spirit in the Sky
4.David Bowie – Moonage Daydream
5.Elvin Bishop – Fooled Around and Fell in Love
6.10Cc – I’m Not in Love
7.Jackson 5 – I Want You Back
8.Redbone – Come and Get Your Love
9.The Runaways – Cherry Bomb
10.Rupert Holmes – Escape (The Pina Colada Song)
11.The Five Stairsteps – O-O-H Child
12.Marvin Gaye/Tammi Terrell – Ain’t No Mountain High Enough

One the best bits – the Star Lord singing “O-O-H Child” in front of Ronan (see the film – it’s hilarious)

And my last though when I saw this film – aside from ‘ I cannot remember who Howard the Duck is – why is everybody laughing ?’ Was – ” It’s about time I watched Star Wars!

Strange huh…?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Haven’t seen this one yet. I made the mistake of going to watch “The fault in our stars” with Little My. The whole room was bawling into their popcorn….

    1. This one is highly recommended – it will having you laughing into the popcorn.

Leave a Reply

