Number crunching, box ticking and Camel

20141016-195641-71801790.jpg   I have spent the day staring at papers and computer screens. After yesterday evening driving session – I managed to drag my tired little body to work, sit through two meetings and plough through a years worth of patient activity data.   The first meeting – wading through our waiting list of children with social communication difficulties.

20141016-195933-71973384.jpg
box ticking

This afternoon we were thinking about the SEN caseload future provision. More staring at screens and looking through electronic records. By 4 pm I able to return to my desk and breathe. I checked a days worth of email and low and behold a 2MB file of data that I had requested on patient activity plops into my inbox. So I then spent the next few hours trying to make sense of the numbers.

number crunching
number crunching

I am reliving  the joys of Excel spreadsheets and making pretty little graphs. I only hope the commissioners who have asked for this information find it useful. By 5 pm the office was empty so I thought I would listen to music on my iPhone to take the edge off staring at a screen and fighting with numbers. My music of choice this week – Camel. A band I had never heard of until I my lovely companion introduced me to them. I have downloaded all 245 songs from his collection and I am working my way through them. This evenings selection came from the Moonmadness album. It was a soothing accompaniment.

20141016-210150-75710111.jpg
Camel – Moonmadness – Song Within A Song

And so another day endeth.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I had never heard of Camel – listening as I type. Very relaxing -thank you 🙂 Why does it remind me of Pink Floyd?
    I sounds like you have huge days to deal with; we all forget that doctors have paperwork and meetings to deal with too. I hope it was all sorted with some good music and a cup of tea.

    1. I think it is very similar to Pink Floyd. The person who introduced me to Camel is also a huge Pink Floyd fan – so I have a number of tracks downloaded from his collection. Its all pretty chilled and relaxing.

Leave a Reply

