Weekly Photo Challenge : New

20150103-084530-31530189.jpg
After 5 hours of braid removal – my afro halo

Not so much the new me but the real me before another new hairstyle. I have a beautiful halo of soft black hair that grows up!

However these days I seem to braid it away…

IMG_6817

This is me after an afternoon the hair salon. My mother insisted that I ‘sort my hair out’ in advance of next weeks event. It seemed like a fair enough request.

2015 finds a new me – not just in physical appearance – although – I think I look basically the same. But the new me, irrevocably changed by recent life events. The innocence about the goodness of life gone and looking at the world with new eyes. Wondering how I am going to be a better person (daughter, partner, sister, friend and colleague). Wondering how I will meet the new expectations and responsibilities heaped on me.  Wondering how I am going to balance, juggle and keep the plates spinning. Maybe I should reset my rules of living for this New Year.

* Allow yourself to be loved by God – don’t worry about the judgement, rules and regulations of other people’s idea of God’s love

* Love and accept yourself –  even your foibles and frailties – just try and improve what you can when you can

* Take care of your body and your mind – you have a better chance of being helpful to other people 

* Be yourself – do not imitate

* Dress well – always. (But it might conflict with the rule above!)

* Maintain an attitude of gratitude.

I will try hard

 

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Love your photos! Excellent words of advice! 🙂

  2. I will keep the guidelines in mind… I like them.

  3. Jodi says:

    I think you look beautiful BOTH ways! Great words of advice too 🙂

  4. ~meredith says:

    What a wonderful greeting. I smiled all the way through. Thanks for visiting my blog. I’m so glad to meet you. Meredith

    1. Thank you! I am glad it made you smile. Happy New Year!

  5. pix & kardz says:

    your hair looks great either way. it’s the smile that makes the do. 🙂
     
    and i like your rules of living, especially that first one. you go girl! all the best to you in 2015!

  6. Anita says:

    Great set of rules to live by! 🙂 I’ve adopted at least one of these recently, and I have to admit I’m much more at peace now. May your 2015 be a happy one.

    And I find it difficult to decide which look of yours I like better — they’re both pretty!

  7. Imelda says:

    I love your smile – so happy and cheery. 🙂

  8. dogear6 says:

    I loved the before and after pictures – the braids are stunning! I liked your goals – good things for living a better life. Don’t be discouraged when / if you fail – pick up and keep going. They’re still good goals, even on bad days.

    Nancy

    1. Thank you for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

