Eye’s Down Christmas Cake (aka encounters at the supermarket checkout)

So it started out as two lonely ripe bananas on desk on Friday evening. I took them home and left them on the counter to fend for themselves. But they were crying out for a home. So out came the phone and three minutes later Google offered me Jamie Oliver’s Banana Baileys bread and butter pud. So I set about buying the ingredients in Tesco. I of course forgot the most important ingredient – the Baileys Irish Cream. I went back and surprise, surprise the checkout assistant asks me for ID. I think I must have been in a bad mood or something because instead just getting out my driving license, I told her “I’m 38”. She looked at me in disbelief and said “no, you don’t look 38” so I then (and I am not sure why I did this either) I replied “how many 25 year olds have grey hair”. It was perhaps a ridiculous think to say. But even more bizarre was the cashier shouting to her colleague in the next aisle “she’s 38! I cannot believe she’s 38!”.

 

Eyes down it’s Christmas Cake.

Needless to say I bought 700ml bottle and walked away.

I guess I should not be upset, one day I will be glad that in some lights and to some people I look 20 years younger than I actually am.

 

So the end product of my only venture outside the flat this weekend…

 

IMG_6964 IMG_6966 IMG_6968 IMG_6970 IMG_6971 IMG_6974 IMG_6979 IMG_6980 IMG_6990 IMG_6992

The verdict…

“It would be nice without the Baileys”

A girl can only try.

75 g unsalted butter, plus extra for greasing, softened
7 – 8 slices good-quality white bread
100 g golden caster sugar , plus 1 heaped tablespoon for sprinkling
1 vanilla pod, halved lengthways and seeds scraped out
4 large free-range eggs
600 ml double cream
600 ml semi-skimmed milk
4 ripe bananas
75 g pecan nuts
100 ml Baileys

Preheat the oven to 180°C/350F/gas 4.

Lightly butter the bread on one side, then cut each piece in half diagonally.

Whisk the sugar, vanilla seeds and eggs together in a large bowl until well combined, then pour in the cream and milk and continue whisking until smooth. Peel and roughly slice the bananas, then roughly bash up the pecans and chocolate, if using.

Rub the inside of a baking dish (roughly 25cm x 30cm) with a little butter, then layer up the bread (butter-side up), bananas, pecans and chocolate, if using, finishing with a final layer of bread (again butter-side up). Drizzle over the Baileys and custardy mixture, then leave to stand for around 20 minutes, or until the bread begins to soak up the liquid.

Bake in the hot oven for around 35 minutes, or until set around the edges but still wobbly in the middle. Remove from the oven and allow to cool slightly, then serve as is, or sprinkle over the caster sugar and blast with a blowtorch to caramelise the top.

Delicious served with good-quality vanilla ice cream.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Lyttlebug says:

    A few years back I was asked for ID for vanilla extract!! The check-out kid said it was 40% alcohol. Hard to feel flattered at the time, isn’t it?

    The pudding looks lovely. Xx

Leave a Reply

