Head full of cold and a heart full of dreams

It is the last Friday in January and I am drinking Lemsip for breakfast for the second day in a row. I have a head cold. It has not knocked me out completely but enough to start the day feeling ‘yukky’. It takes until mid afternoon until the fog clears and my thinking capacity returns. I should really take time from work but once the Lemsip kicks in I feel almost human and not being at work seems incredibly wasteful. Today, however I think I will limit myself to catching up on my pile of admin. There are a a few clinic letters to correct, which will keep me very busy. I think my body is telling me that I need a holiday or some enforced period of rest. I do not have any annual leave booked until the end of February. Now that is looking so far away. I can only count the days. I have not booked a holiday yet but it will be enough to be out of the rat race of work for 5 days. Whatever I chose to do I would like it to be relaxing and life-affirming at the same time! Do not get me wrong – I love my job. I work as a consultant community paediatrician. The job is challenging and brings me much satisfaction. I work with child and families with long term disabilities. It can be emotionally challenging as well as richly rewarding. However, I need, like many of my colleagues, to maintain a healthy work-life balance. In the end it will make me a better person and clinician.

Back to the present day…

I am going to take a shower and drive into work now. I am starting to feel better already.

Leave a Reply

