We have existence and it’s all we share

There ain’t no space and time
To keep our love alive
We have existence and it’s all we share
There ain’t no real truth
There ain’t no real lies
Keep on pushin’ ’cause I know it’s there

Oh, can you just tell me
It’s all right (It’s all right)
Let me sleep tonight
Oh, can you comfort me
Tonight (It’s all right)
Make it all seem fine

I just can’t make it alone
Oh, no, no
I just can’t make it alone
Oh, no, no

There’ll be no lullabies
There’ll be no tears cried
We feel numb ’cause we don’t see
That if we really care
And we really loved
Think of all the joy we’d feel

Oh, can you just tell me
It’s all right (It’s all right)
Let me sleep tonight
Oh, can you comfort me
Tonight (It’s all right)
Make it all seem fine

I just can’t make it alone
Oh, no, no
I just can’t make it alone
Oh, no, no
I just can’t make it alone
Oh, no, no
I just can’t make it alone
Oh, no, no

Ain’t got no lullaby, no, no
Ain’t got no lullaby, oh, no
There is no space and time
Oh lord
There is no space and time
Oh lord

We have existence and it’s all we share
We have existence and it’s all we share
We have existence and it’s all we share
We have existence and it’s all we share
We have existence and it’s all we share
Keep on pushing ’cause I know it’s there
Keep on pushing ’cause I know it’s there
Keep on pushing ’cause I know it’s there
Keep on pushing ’cause I know it’s there

Space and Time, The Verve, Urban Hymns, September 1997

Another song that has featured on many a mixtape and iTune playlist. I listened to this song on repeat for days when I medical student. It reminds me of starting my first clinical attachment. I was based at Northwick Park Hospital with a cardiology firm. It was all a bit stressful then – carting myself from North East to North West London (little did I know that I would be doing the very same thing 20 years later). Every morning for 8 weeks I took the 0740 Metropolitan Line train from Liverpool street station. I’d be panicking about a case I had to present later that morning or fretting about all the ECGs I would be looking at and not really getting (the ‘pattern recognition’ would come much later). Listening to the album certainly helped soothe me before and after the long days at the hospital. And just to think – I was that stressed early on….

2 Comments Add yours

  1. macingosh says:

    Hah! Bought that a while later in a thrift shop for 2 Euros only. 🙂
    And that’s the usual way pop glory goes.

    1. La chica que vino a la vida says:

      So it does. But the joy I have had from listening to this album for the past 18 years has been priceless!

Leave a Reply

