Dover, Dinos and Delight

Saturday afternoon found us in Dover.

My lovely companion wanted to drive (he passed his test in December) and I wanted to get out of London for the day. Bingo – a trip to Dover planned. In fairness – we have been planning this trip for a long time (since 2013!) but somehow we never booked the train journey or found the time. My lovely companion refers to himself as an ‘outdoors man’ and loves to walk. So we planned to walk across the cliffs and enjoy the view.

IMG_6383

We jumped in the car and sailed down the A2 and M20 and arrived around 2.30 pm. It was cold and there was not much sunshine but it was refreshing to be away from the hustle and bustle of London town.

IMG_7197
seagull crossing…

IMG_7198

IMG_7199

So we found the cliffs (not too hard…) and we walked for three hours.

I have to say despite the wind, the cold and clouds it was a beautiful day.

IMG_7212

IMG_7216
the last rays of sun
IMG_7219
Dover Castle in the distance

IMG_7234

IMG_7239

IMG_7243
leader of the pack…
IMG_7245
a little one rolling down the hill
IMG_7258
me and my woolly hat!
IMG_7259
taking in the view

The views were spectacular. I was suitably terrified by the height and nervous about getting close to the edge. However there is something that just draws me to it (“gravity” – says my lovely companion) and I cannot help but stand and stare in awe.

IMG_7263

IMG_7273
my lovely companion…
IMG_7276
don’t step to close…

IMG_7277

IMG_7278
dizzy heights

IMG_7284

IMG_7285

IMG_7289
my lovely companion said this lighthouse reminded him of Andalusia. I asked him why. He said the colours – “green and white”. Then I said – that’s like Nigeria too – green and white.
IMG_7308
Finally got to use the tripod that my lovely companion carried around for me.

After 3 hours of walking we were tired and HUNGRY! We googled ‘places to eat in Dover’ and came up with Dino’s Italian restaurant. What a find!

The place was cosy and inviting.

IMG_7326

IMG_7327

IMG_7335

It goes without saying that the food was delicious.

IMG_7330
Spaghetti con polpette. spaghetti cooked with a tasty traditional Calabrese recipe meatballs in a fresh tomato, olive oil, onions and fresh basil sauce
IMG_7331
House special. Cheese cake with pear
IMG_7332
Panna Cotta homemade panna cotta with caramel & crushed amaretti.

We were so pleased with our choice of restaurant – we gave it 5 stars on a google review!

All in all it was a delightful day. It was nice to get away from the mundane and stressful everyday life. It was nice to spend quality time with my lovely companion. It was just nice. I am hoping that I can do more of this with family and friends this year. It is very healing.

Leave a Reply

