The best part of me was always you

I’m still alive but I’m barely breathing
Just prayed to a god that I don’t believe in
Cos I got tI’me while she got freedom
Cos when a heart breaks no it don’t break even

Her best days will be some of my worst
She finally met a man thats gonna put her 1st
While I’m wide awake she’s no trouble sleeping
Cos when a heart breaks no it don’t breakeven

What am I suppose to do when the best part of me was always you
What am I suppose to say when I’m all choked up and your ok
I’m falling to pieces
I’m falling to pieces

They say bad things happen for a reason
But not wise words gonna stop the bleeding
Cos she’s moved on while I’m still grieving
Cos when a heart breaks no it don’t breakeven

What am I suppose to do when the best part of me was always you
What am I suppose to say when I’m all choked up and your ok
I’m falling to pieces
I’m falling to pieces
(one still in love while the other ones leaving
Cos when a heart breaks no it don’t breakeven)

You got his heart and my heart and none of the pain
You took your suitcase, I took the blame.
Now I’m tryna make sense of what little remains
Cos you left me with no love, no love to my name.

I’m still alive but I’m barely breathing
Just prayed to a god that I don’t believe in
Cos I got tI’me while she got freedom
Cos when a heart breaks no it don’t break even

What am I gonna do when the best part of me was always you
What am I suppose to say when I’m all choked up and your ok
I’m falling to pieces
I’m falling to pieces
(one still in love while the other ones leaving
Cos when a heart breaks no it don’t breakeven)

Breakeven, The Script, The Script – 2008

The year is 2009, I am a registrar in Hackney completing my last training post before I need to think about the scary world of consultant jobs. I am also conspiciously single. My forays into the dating world are widely unsuccessful. I don’t understand people, they don’t understand me. I am working much too hard anyway all my energies focused on my work. I am driving around in my little blue Merc, “my blue baby” I used to call it. I spend at lot of time at Church – my most active time I recall. I am going through a transition period. I am surrounded by people by also very lonely. It was an interesting time in my life. I loved singing this song even though I was not heartbroken. I was a bit weird!

Leave a Reply

