Now I stand in the hope of new life

When I call on Your name You answer
When I fall You are there by my side
You delivered me out of darkness
Now I stand in the hope of new life.

By grace I’m free
You’ve rescued me
All I am is Yours

I’ve found a love greater than life itself
I’ve found a hope stronger and nothing compares
I once was lost now I’m alive in You
Alive in You

You’re my God and my firm foundation
It is You whom I’ll trust at all times
I give glory and praise, adoration
To my Saviour who’s seated on high

Love came down and rescued me
I thank You, I thank You
I once was blind but now I see
I see You, I see You

Love Came Down, Ben Cantelon, Daylight Breaks Through – 2007

When things were going well, I lifted my hands and sung with  joy and  gusto. When everything turned upside down, I questioned everything. I found it of little comfort. Why did You not answer my prayers God? And if not mine – all the others praying around me. Did You not hear us? It is hard to come back from that. There are no answers, no explanations that anybody that I will give me that I will believe, entertain or find comfort it. However the deep small voice inside says – ‘ I know, I understand, I am sorry’ and I know I will have to be content with that. Despite the denting that it has received, I do not think I have completely abandoned my faith. I am not sure I can do that. I am not sure I can live like that.  However it is a very hard ask. Look at the mess the World is in today. I think perhaps acknowledging my frailties and foibles is a start. I think readjusting my spiritual lens is a start. I think understanding that this is a relationship that starts inside and extends outside to others, is a start.

Leave a Reply

