Retreat

It is 10pm on a Friday night and I am tucked away on a top bunk in a House in the ‘Essex’ countryside.

What am I doing?

I am on a Christian retreat with my mother. I wanted to accompany her and I guess learn something new.

This weekend we will be studying   Ephesians. I have quickly read through the six chapters in the little Gideons Bible that my mother brought along for me. I will be very interested in what is said tomorrow. My faith somewhat rocky these days so I will be open to hearing uplifting and encouraging words. It has been a long time since I have deliberately placed my self into an overtly Christian setting. The people that I have met this evening have been very sweet and lovely. They are quoting Bible verses left, right and centre and with such faith and sincerity, it’s actually nice. I have made an active decision to leave my prejudices at the door for now but still keeping my sense of self and internal boundaries.

The couple that seem to be leading this are Americans – they seem so sweet and so so young and fresh faced. I was reminded of the fact that a few weeks or months ago I wanted to meet some Americans (I am not sure why) and it seems my wish has come true. And yes perhaps only 30% of America’s have a passport.

I am not sure exactly where I am we drove here in the dark! I just plugged the postcode into my Google maps app and 25 mins later we arrived. Not so far from the A12 and opposite Havering Country Park. Between the meetings/teachings tomorrow we are scheduled in time to rest. I have a feeling, if the weather is good, I might go out exploring with my camera. As we walked through the car park in the dark I could see the lights of the city of London below us, so I expecting amazing views.

So I have high expectations…

IMG_9141
Top bunk
Leave a Reply

