Weekly writing challenge : Reflections

Flick through the pages of a book

In this challenge, tell us how you fell in love with books and writing

I cannot remember a time when I have not been either reading or writing.

20140619-214037-78037080.jpg

I learnt the letters of the alphabet with these Mattel creations.

My parents taught me to read and the first book I mastered was

What can monkey do next?

20140406-083110.jpg

I cannot remember much of the book – all I remember is the first line “it is night – everybody is asleep” or words to that effect. I remember pictures of a cute little monkey making a mess of the house.

I do not have a copy of the original which is strange given my father’s proclivity to keep everything – I cannot find this book in my parents house. However  during a period of convalescence I managed to find the book on Amazon. The author is Helen Piers who I now know was a photographer and writer of animal stories. The version I managed to find was “Four Animal Stories” a hardback version with all four books merged into one.

That aside, I am grateful for my parents for teaching me to read – when I finally started school I was so excited that I would take home a book everyday to read in the evening. I would finish it and then ask the teacher for another book for next evening. I will never forget the look of surprise on my teacher’s face when I asked for another book the next day.

Do I remember my early books?

LadyBird books

The Elves and the Shoemaker
The Elves and the Shoemaker
The Three Little Pigs
The Three Little Pigs

When we moved house in 1982 – we were close to our local library. Book heaven! I spent practically every weekend there – using up my quota of 7 books (10 when I got an adult library card). Once again devouring books.
It has never really stopped , now my Kindle is the bookstore, the rate limiting factor now is finding the time to read. 

Leave a Reply

