“You will never be lovelier than you are now”

The last stop in our Sunday road trip was to the foot of Ben Nevis. There was never a plan to climb it, we were totally unprepared, but we thought we would stand at the bottom and look up in awe. Google maps (no paper maps yet on this trip!) directed us to carpark near Ben Nevis.

Screen Shot 2017-07-31 at 15.28.09
Road trip – We eventually ended up in Ben Nevis parking, having travelled from near Edinburgh via the The Trossachs National Park

Here we donned our waterproofs and just started walking. I am not sure that we knew where we where headed, we just had a desire to explore the beautiful scenery.

Screen Shot 2017-07-31 at 15.29.46

And beautiful it was. It of course continued to rain relentlessly but this did take away our enjoyment, it just meant we had to be very careful on walking in the slippery rocks. The path were were walking along took us through the Steall Gorge which opened out to Steall meadow from which we could see the Steall Waterfall. My understanding is that the Gaelic name is An Steall Bàn meaning “the white spout”. It is Scotland’s second highest waterfall with a single drop of 120 metres (390 ft). Along the way down below us we could hear there noise of the river Nevis. I hope I can come back again one day. The place is stunning.

 

 

There is something about being outdoors that just resets your soul. All the angst and worries about everyday life just melt away when you are surrounded by such beauty. It’s just wonderful and somehow sad. I suppose that fact that I know that it is all time limited makes it all the more poignant.

IMG_5049

As I was drinking in the view I was reminded of something from the film Troy where Achilles says “I’ll tell you a secret. Something they don’t teach you in your temple. The Gods envy us. They envy us because we’re mortal, because any moment might be our last. Everything is more beautiful because we’re doomed. You will never be lovelier than you are now. We will never be here again.”

IMG_5084

In the Steall meadow there was a wire-rope bridge crossing the river. I was not brave enough to cross it, my husband leapt at the challenge and nimbly made his way across.

IMG_5075
Much braver than me…

 

This country is just so beautiful and I love it. I have taken it to my heart.

Leave a Reply

