Yo Te Seguire

on

 

I will follow

Chris Tomlin

 

Where you go, I’ll go
Where you stay, I’ll stay
When you move, I’ll move
I will follow…

All your ways are good
All your ways are sure
I will trust in you alone
Higher than my sight
High above my life
I will trust in you alone (trust in you alone)

Where you go, I’ll go
Where you stay, I’ll stay
When you move, I’ll move
I will follow you
Who you love, I’ll love
How you serve I’ll serve
If this life I lose, I will follow you, yeah
I will follow you, yeah

Light unto the world
Light unto my life
I will live for you alone
You’re the one I seek
Knowing I will find
All I need in you alone, in you alone

Where you go, I’ll go
Where you stay, I’ll stay
When you move, I’ll move
I will follow you
Who you love, I’ll love
How you serve, I’ll serve
If this life I lose, I will follow you
I will follow you, yeah

In you there’s life everlasting
In you there’s freedom for my soul
In you there’s joy, unending joy
And I will follow

Where you go, I’ll go
Where you stay, I’ll stay
When you move, I’ll move
I will follow
Who you love, I’ll love
How you serve, I’ll serve
If this life I lose, I will follow

Where you go, I’ll go
Where you stay, I’ll stay
When you move, I’ll move
I will follow you
Who you love, I’ll love
How you serve, I’ll serve
If this life I lose, I will follow you, yeah
I will follow you, yeah
I will follow you, yeah
I will follow you, yeah

And so this bizarre Saturday continues. I heard this song on the radio in the evening, while continuing with my tidying up and shredding. Didn’t know who sang it so I googled ” I will follow” and I managed to work out the artist and the song. Also came across a Spanish version of the song – which was a pleasant surprise. I wondered if it would help me learn Spanish a bit faster.

As for the actually lyrics and theme of the song

A different sort of thing to the last set I posted. In a way it’s a comfort to think of God holding us in the palm of His hand. Comforting us and keeping us safe from the prowling lions. But following, serving, losing everything – well that’s a whole other ball game. I’m guessing that the two should go naturally hand in hand and I am sure they do. There was a time in my life then this would have been easy. Or at least I would have felt that I was “following the rules” listening to God and embarking on God centred activities. Yes, I used to enjoy all of that Sunday school at my local Church and homeless and hospital work with Holy Trinity Brompton (HTB). Then I gradually dropped out of it. Not sure why – tiredness mostly – a desire to sleep on Sunday mornings instead of travelling across London. It’s strange  because in the days when my faith was at it’s strongest – tiredness was never an issue. I remember the enthusiasm with with I went to Church on Sunday morning after a 13 hour night shift. Amazing days.  I am not sure what has happened in the past few years. I last went to Church a few weeks ago with my mother and sister. A little baptist Church in East London. While I took great comfort in much of the service, there were some points in the sermon when I was just riled and arguing with the pastor in my head. I guess that cannot make for a great Church going experience.  And so I also realise that it’s not all about the Church and the people, that the fundamental thing is a relationship with Jesus Christ. Again in the past, there was a time when I thought that I had that. There was a time when I felt loved and special and not afraid of anything. I always used to think “Gods got this – He’s got my back”. Even through a slight medical scare – I didn’t worry – I just thought – I will be OK. And I was OK and I still am.  I am not sure when I started to flag, I am not sure when it just became harder to believe. I am not sure when it became an effort. I think I was thinking too much. Analysing everything I heard and coming up with different answers. Watching other people and myself, saying one thing and doing another. Thinking, thinking, thinking that something did not add up. But at the same time – everything made complete sense. It was like I was in two minds (James 1: 5-8 If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord. Such a person is double-minded and unstable in all they do). I could see both sides clearly. Both sides made sense. It’s funny at that time I was reading and listening to works by Alan de Botton and A.C.Grayling and then C.S.Lewis.

mixed bunch...
mixed bunch…

Should perhaps just listen to my heart.

I love these worship songs but sometimes I wonder if I love the melodies more than the message. Sometimes I just wonder. I am inspired for as long as I hear the song – when I am listening anything is possible. The music stops and things are just a little different. But the longer I listen, the less I am distracted the more meaningful things become. I guess that is the same with anything.

So my conclusion to my midnight rambles…?

Keep trusting and the rest will follow.

Leave a Reply

