Spice up your life!

Experimenting in the kitchen again this evening! I had this idea that I make my lovely companion a comforting casserole coupled with the thought that I needed to try cooking different recipes. So I decided to cook sausage and bean casserole
It was very tasty but too hot! I think perhaps I overdid it with the spices.

IMG_6996

IMG_6998

IMG_6999
I’ve bean meaning to tell you…

IMG_7001

IMG_7002

2 tbsp olive or rapeseed oil
1 onion, finely chopped
2 medium sticks celery, finely chopped
1 yellow pepper, chopped
1 red pepper, chopped
3 fat garlic cloves, chopped
6 cooking chorizo sausages (about 400g)
6 pork sausages (about 400g)
1½ tsp sweet smoked paprika
½ tsp ground cumin
1 tbsp dried thyme
125ml white wine
2 x 400g tins cherry tomatoes or chopped tomatoes
2 sprigs fresh thyme
1 chicken stock cube
1 x 400g tin aduki beans, drained and rinsed
1 bunch chives (optional)

Heat the olive or rapeseed oil in a large heavy-based pan.
Add the onion and cook gently for 5 minutes.
Add the celery and peppers and cook for a further 5 mins.
Add the sausages and fry the sausages for 5 minutes, then stir in the garlic, spices and dried thyme and continue cooking for 1 – 2 mins or until the aromas are released.
Pour in the wine and use a wooden spoon to remove any residue stuck to the pan.
Add the tinned tomatoes, and fresh thyme and bring to a simmer.
Crumble in the stock cube and stir in.
Cook for 40 minutes.
Stir in the beans and cook for a further five minutes.
Remove the thyme sprigs, season with black pepper and serve.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. It looks wonderful! My Husband would love it with the spices. It has to be delicious, you added wine.. 🙂 Chorizo is a little spicy for me so I usually substitute sweet Italian sausage. Your recipe could make my heart and tummy happy!

  2. pattyalcala says:

    It looks delicious! Love the pictures.

    1. Thank you ! It was delicious and will make for a nice lunch tomorrow afternoon.

  3. Lu Wilson says:

    I love spicy food so this would be prefect for me!

Leave a Reply

